The Ruth E. Cohan Jewish Book Review Series

The Institute of Jewish Knowledge and Learning is proud to continue The Ruth E. Cohan Jewish Book Review Series in partnership with the Broward County Public Libraries offering a free Jewish Book Review series.

Now part of the David Posnack JCC Book Club including

programs hosted at community member homes

Contact Kim at 954.249.8290 for more information.

Click on each book cover to purchase on Amazon

Click on each library name for directions

Come and experience even if you haven't read the book.

The Flight Portfolio by Julia Orringer

This historical novel takes us back to occupied Europe and is based on the true story of Varian Fry's extraordinary attempt to save the work, and the lives, of Jewish artists fleeing the Holocaust.

Monday, November 4 from 1:30-2:30pm at the Century Plaza/Leon Slatin Branch

Tuesday, November 5 from 11:30-12:30pm at the Main Library

Wednesday, November 6 from 1:00-2:00pm at the Pembroke Pines Branch 

Thursday, November 7 from 2:00-3:00pm at the Tamarac Branch

Wednesday, November 13 from 2:00-3:00pm at the North Regional/BC Library

Wednesday, November 13 from 2:00-3:00pm at the Stirling Road Branch

Tuesday, November 20 from 2:00-3: 00pm at the Hallandale Branch 

 

flight.jpg

The World We Knew by Alice Hoffman

Please note that for the JCC Book Review program (listed below as "Private Home" requires that you click on the link to RSVP 

Set in Europe during the Holocaust, it follows three young women who must act with courage to survive history’s darkest hour. Steeped in history and Jewish mythology it is a spellbinding portrait of what it means to be human in an inhuman world.

Monday, December 2 from 1:30-2:30pm at the Century Plaza/Leon Slatin Branch 

Tuesday, December 3 from 11:30-12:30pm at the Main Library

Wednesday, December 4 from 1:00-2:00pm at the Pembroke Pines Branch 

Thursday, December 5 from 2:00-3:00pm at the Tamarac Branch

Tuesday, December 10 from 7:00-8:30pm at a private home (RSVP here)

Wednesday, December 11 from 2:00-3:00pm at the North Regional/BC Library

Wednesday, December 11 from 2:00-3:30pm at the Stirling Road Branch

Wednesday, December 18 from 2:00-3: 00pm at the Hallandale Branch 

world we knew.jpg

Inheritance by Dani Shapiro

A gripping genetic detective story and meditation on the meaning of parenthood and family.

Monday, January 6 from 1:30-2:30pm at the Century Plaza/Leon Slatin Branch 

Tuesday, January 7 from 11:30-12:30pm at the Main Library

Wednesday, January 8 from 1:00-2:00pm at the Pembroke Pines Branch 

Thursday, January 2 from 2:00-3:00pm at the Tamarac Branch

Tuesday, January 14 from 7:00-8:30pm at a private home

Wednesday, January 8 from 2:00-3:00pm at the North Regional/BC Library

Wednesday, January 8 from 2:00-3:30pm at the Stirling Road Branch

Wednesday, January 15 from 2:00-3: 00pm at the Hallandale Branch 

inheritance.jpg

Eternal Life by Dara Horn

From ancient religion to the scientific frontier, Dara Horn pits our efforts to make life last against the deeper challenge of making life worth living.

Monday, February 3 from 1:30-2:30pm at the Century Plaza/Leon Slatin Branch 

Tuesday, February 4 from 11:30-12:30pm at the Main Library

Wednesday, February 5 from 1:00-2:00pm at the Pembroke Pines Branch 

Thursday, February 6 from 2:00-3:00pm at the Tamarac Branch

Tuesday, February 11 from 7:00-8:30pm at a private home

Wednesday, February 12 from 2:00-3:00pm at the North Regional/BC Library

Wednesday, February 12 from 2:00-3:30pm at the Stirling Road Branch

Wednesday, February 19 from 2:00-3: 00pm at the Hallandale Branch 

eternal.jpg

Kaddish.com by Nathan Englander

Sharp, irreverent, hilarious, and wholly irresistible, a tale of a son who makes a diabolical compromise ingeniously captures the tensions between tradition and modernity.

Monday, March 2 from 1:30-2:30pm at the Century Plaza/Leon Slatin Branch 

Tuesday, March 3 from 11:30-12:30pm at the Main Library

Wednesday, March 4 from 1:00-2:00pm at the Pembroke Pines Branch 

Thursday, March 5 from 2:00-3:00pm at the Tamarac Branch

Tuesday, March 10 from 7:00-8:30pm at a private home

Wednesday, March 11 from 2:00-3:00pm at the North Regional/BC Library

Wednesday, March 11 from 2:00-3:30pm at the Stirling Road Branch

Wednesday, March 18 from 2:00-3: 00pm at the Hallandale Branch 

kaddish.jpg

The Institute of Jewish Knowledge and Learning (IJKL)

Touching hearts, igniting souls and challenging minds through transformative Jewish learning and living.

© 2018 by IJKL